06 October 2013

Miguel Clavijo

Miguel Clavijo is a versatile artist developing a reputation across Europe as a truly exciting guitar player.

In 1999 by personal invitation of the artistic director, Miguel Clavijo became laureate of the "Fete de la Musique" International Music Festival in Caracas-Venezuela. Since then, Miguel has performed extensively in Venezuela, and, later on, Miguel was invited to play in New York, Paris and London; including concerts at The London National Gallery, Royal College of Music, St James's Piccadilly, Victoria & Albert Museum, O2 Arena, Landmark Series etc. After moving to Europe in 2006, Miguel appeared in various venues across Spain, France and UK.

Miguel was a finalist at the Antonio Lauro Guitar Competition and has shared the platform with guitar virtuoso Nirse Gonzalez (winner of Francisco Tarrega Guitar Competition, 2006) and has collaborated with outstanding violin player Paula Martinez (London Philharmonic Orchestra). In 2009 Miguel was invited to play for the exhibition opening "Picasso: Challenging The Past" at the National Gallery.

Miguel started in music at an early age, playing the venezuelan national instrument: el cuatro. He began studying in Caracas at the L. Gallardo Music School and the J. M. Olivares Music School with J. G. Guanchez (Antonio Lauro's student) and later in Washington D.C. at Levine School of Music with Franco Platino (Barrueco's assistent).

Following a whirlwind rise learning in Venezuela, and with just three years playing the classical guitar, Miguel traveled to Baltimore to enrol on a GPD program at the prestigious Peabody Conservatory of the John Hopkins University, made possible by a full scholarship from the institute (award rarely given to a musician with so little experience), Mabelle Antoinette del mar and The Cape Foundation.

A musician of wide ranging interest and abilities, Miguel has conducted choirs and lead workshops, particularly in New York. He has received awards for excellence in teaching and has taught over a thousand students. He is very fortunate to play a Boguslaw Teryks 2004. 


Koyunbaba Suite Op.19 - Carlo Domeniconi
Chaconne in D minor - JS Bach


Romance - anon.
Un Día de Noviembre - Leo Brouwer
Asturias - Isaac Albeniz
Recuerdos de la Alhambra - Francisco Tarrega
La Rossiniana No 1 Op. 119 - Mauro Giuliani